National Donut: The Forgotten National Holiday

Yesterday was National Donut Day and I celebrated with a few happy rings from Tag’s Bakery in Evanston. I feel that every day is donut day at least to me. I can come up with an excuse to eat a donut almost anytime and today was a perfect Sunny day to visit the Doughnut Vault Van. The flavor of the day was Root Beer and I thought to myself, “this isn’t going to work”. Well I was wrong. The Root Beer donut was somehow refreshing and light. I don’t know exactly what they are doing over there at Doughnut Vault Labs but someone needs to get an award for infusing all that Root Beer flavor into a doughnut without making it overly sweet or syrupy tasting. The amount of glaze was absolutely perfect. I also got 6 other doughnuts that are the standby flavors: Pistachio, Buttermilk, Triple Chocolate, Toasted Coconut, Toasted Almond and Lemon Poppy Seed. The Buttermilk donut is delightful and simple without much adornment which it really doesn’t need. The Toasted Almond is aromatic, elegant and so rich in Almond flavor it’s like eating a fluffy piece of fried marzipan. The almond slivers on top fall off the ring easily, oh well. The toasted coconut is an excellent under sweetened treat and the toasted shreds are nice and nutty, not overly sweet. The donuts from Tag’s Bakery in Evanston are less fancy, but equally good and more classic in the approach. My girlfriend and I shared a Chocolate frosted donut with crunchy sprinkled and a Blueberry Glazed donut. The classic Chocolate donut with sprinkles was tender, moist and the cake had perfect density and mouthfeel. The Blueberry doughnut was quite dense and although not overly sweet, it had a ton of blueberry flavor and the cake was super moist. The old guard Tag’s Bakery will always be around, but if you want a slightly more elevated donut try the Doughnut Vault

This is my crack
This is my crack
Tag's Bakery does a classic the right way.
Tag’s Bakery does a classic the right way.
Leave a Reply

